Tags

December 29 – Defining Moment

Describe a defining moment or series of events

that has affected your life this year.

(Author: Kathryn Fitzmaurice


The defining moment or series of events or accumulation of days is my being a work-outside-the-home woman now.  Nothing else has defined me or is redefining me like this experience has and is.

I have wondered about the rightness of this choice to go back to work after twenty-five years of being a stay-at-home mom.  Not that I wanted to exclusively continue that role but I had other plans in mind.  College. Art. I have had to ask myself several times this year did taking this job hinder those plans.

The answer to that is no. Working in the bookstore is helping me see that I am capable, that I have good ideas, that I have something to offer.  I am not sure that I was convinced of that yet.  It was a thought, a theory in my head but not one that was tested. Now I know.

My working outside the home is helping all of us become more independent while also working better together as a team. There have been and probably still will be rough spots as we constantly balance our schedules and activities but we are all learning.

This job is teaching me how to plan better, how to fit my projects into the time that I have. And quite simply, I really like my job.  I don’t think there is anything that I don’t like about my job … well, filing isn’t my favorite thing to do.  But I enjoy talking to the customers and helping them find books. I am growing more confident in that each day. I like helping design the displays and even just wrapping the books for shipment.

A great big thank you goes out to the owner of our bookstore.  She took a chance hiring someone who hadn’t been employed in twenty-five years and who is still homeschooling five children at home.  I came to her quite unsure, quite diffident.  For all the bravado that I can show, I really struggled to begin with and wasn’t sure that I could keep up the pace, that I could learn what I needed to in order to become not just an employee but someone who could really contribute something to the store.

I am seeing now that the definition was already there for me.  I am a wife, yes. a mom, an unschooling mom, yes. But I am also a bookseller. One who is excited to continue working and also to see what definitions, what defining moments are waiting in 2011.

What about you?  What’s defined you this year?


