Tags

, ,

Happy New Year!

The first day of the new year is nearing its end and I am just now sitting down to write about it, about what lies ahead, about dreams, wishes, hopes.

Here is where there should be the list of resolutions or goals or the declaration of intent or the revealing of my guiding word for 2013 (I do have a word). Should be. I guess that is what the rules say … first post of the year should be about those things. To that I say, whatever. I’ve never been much for the rules (thus the lateness of this post. I am certainly not following the protocol for successful blogging)

Actually, I want to write about walking with Michael Moore. I stumbled across this facebook post from Michael Moore where he writes about walking just 30 minute a day and I was captivated with what he had to say about his reasoning and why to join him.

But the truth is, exercise does not work, diets do not work, feeling crummy does not work. Nothing works. My advice: Quit trying to be something you’re not, be happy with the life you’ve been given, and just go for a pleasant walk outside. With me. Wherever you are. Get off the treadmill, stop drinking diet Coke, throw out all the rules. It’s all a scam and it conspires to keep you miserable. If it says “low-fat” or “sugar-free” or “just 100 calories!” throw it out. Remember, one of the main tenets of capitalism is to have the consumer filled with fear, insecurity, envy and unhappiness so that we can spend, spend, spend our way out of it and, dammit, just feel better for a little while. But we don’t, do we? The path to happiness – and deep down, we all know this — is created by love, and being kind to oneself, sharing a sense of community with others, becoming a participant instead of a spectator, and being in motion.

And if you want, join me. But do NOT go on that walk with me if you are doing so to “get fit”, “be healthy”, or “lose weight”. You are fine just the way you are. Only walk outside with me right now because you know it might just feel good, because it’s a beautiful day, or someone is joining in with you, the fresh air is invigorating, you have to drive down to the drug store but you realize you can walk there, or simply because it’s just nice to be alive for one more day. Walk to walk and nothing else — and the other stuff will take care of itself.

So, because it is certainly nice to be alive for just one more day and despite the rain and the coming dusk, I went for a walk.

Just because.

Not a power walk to be in shape. Just a walk.

When I first started out, I thought about how I wish I had an iphone so that I could take photos of interesting things on my walk … wait, what was it that Michael Moore wrote about capitalism and envy and happiness? Do I need an iphone? In fact, do I need to take photos while on my walk? Can I just walk for thirty minutes and open my eyes and notice my world? Treasure these images in my heart?

So I walked, in the drizzling rain and I noticed . . .

  • the shiny, wet black asphalt on our road and I imagined what it would look like in the city with street lights reflecting on it.
  • the bits of gravel scattered here and there, gray and grayer pebbles creating interesting texture on the side of the road
  • the trees, oh the trees, naked and standing strong, limbs reaching to the sky, showing off the foundation of their frames.
  • fence posts and beige fields and cows looking at me with as much wonder as I looked at them
  • geese in the pond over the hill who gave me their song but not their flight
  • pools and puddles of water in the cracks of the asphalt waiting for a bit of a splash
  • the fleeing color as the darkness settled down
  • glowing windows, friendly and welcome

It felt good to walk, just walk. I realized how much I need this little bit of time, a gift to myself. No agenda, no goal of increasing or decreasing, nothing but myself and my thoughts. I could do this again and again and again. It felt peaceful and slow. Oh slowness … now that is what calls me this year.

But before this post become that post, the first day of the new year post, I am going to be done for tonight. Mostly, I just wanted share and invite you to join Michael Moore and me … we’ll be walking.

